Ask “Mr. Music”
Jerry Osborne


DEAR JERRY: On one of Direct-TV's music channels, I heard what seemed to be a tribute song to the Country Music Hall of Fame. It told of a fellow wandering around in Nashville, who found himself in the Hall of Fame.

I didn't catch all of the names of inductees mentioned in the song, but those were likely just a fraction of the full lineup.
—Liz Johnson,Worcester, Mass.

DEAR LIZ: What you heard was a Top 10 hit, by Hank Locklin from 1967, appropriately titled "The Country Hall of Fame" (RCA Victor 9323).

Musicians mentioned in the song, some of whom were already in the Hall of Fame (from 1961 to 1967), and others accurately predicted to join in the future, are: Jimmie Rodgers; Roy Acuff; Eddy Arnold; Maybelle Carter (of the Carter Family); Tex Ritter; Minnie Pearl; Hank Snow; Jim Reeves; Patsy Cline; Rod Brasfield; Ira Louvin; Ernest Tubb; Red Foley; and Hank Williams.

Among those predictions are these four, who are still not enshrined in the Hall: Riley Puckett; Gid Tanner; Cowboy Copas; and Hawkshaw Hawkins. Ironically, Copas and Hawkins were both killed in the same plane crash that took the life of Patsy Cline (March 5, 1963).

Chronologically, according to their year of induction, here are the singers, musicians, and entertainers in the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. Not included here are folks being honored for their contributions to the business side of things, and other miscellaneous associations in the music industry, other than being a star:

1961 Hank Williams
1961 Jimmie Rodgers
1962 Roy Acuff
1964 Tex Ritter
1965 Ernest Tubb
1966 Eddy Arnold
1966 Uncle Dave Macon
1967 Jim Reeves
1967 Red Foley
1968 Bob Wills
1969 Gene Autry
1970 Bill Monroe
1970 The Carter Family
1972 Jimmie Davis
1973 Chet Atkins
1973 Patsy Cline
1974 Pee Wee King
1975 Minnie Pearl
1976 Kitty Wells
1977 Merle Travis
1978 Grandpa Jones
1979 Hank Snow
1980 Johnny Cash
1980 Sons of the Pioneers
1981 Vernon Dalhart
1982 Lefty Frizzell
1982 Marty Robbins
1983 Little Jimmy Dickens
1984 Floyd Tillman
1985 Lester Flatt & Earl Scruggs
1986 The Duke of Paducah
1987 Rod Brasfield
1988 Loretta Lynn
1988 Roy Rogers
1989 Hank Thompson
1990 Tennessee Ernie Ford
1992 George Jones
1993 Willie Nelson
1994 Merle Haggard
1995 Roger Miller
1996 Buck Owens
1996 Patsy Montana
1996 Ray Price
1997 Brenda Lee
1998 Elvis Presley
1998 George Morgan
1998 Tammy Wynette
1999 Conway Twitty
1999 Dolly Parton
1999 Johnny Bond
2000 Charley Pride
2000 Faron Young
2001 Bill Anderson
2001 Don Gibson
2001 Homer and Jethro
2001 The Delmore Brothers
2001 The Everly Brothers
2001 The Jordanaires
2001 The Louvin Brothers
2001 Waylon Jennings
2001 Webb Pierce
2002 Bill Carlisle
2002 Porter Wagoner
2003 Carl Smith
2003 Floyd Cramer
2004 Kris Kristofferson
2005 Alabama
2005 DeFord Bailey
2005 Glen Campbell
2006 George Strait
2006 Harold Bradley
2006 Sonny James
2007 Mel Tillis
2007 Vince Gill
2008 Emmylou Harris
2008 Ernest Stoneman
2008 The Statler Brothers
2008 Tom T. Hall
2009 Barbara Mandrell
2009 Charlie McCoy
2009 Roy Clark
2010 Don Williams
2010 Ferlin Husky
2010 Jimmy Dean
2011 Jean Shepard
2011 Reba McEntire
2012 Connie Smith
2012 Garth Brooks
2012 Hargus "Pig" Robbins
2013 Bobby Bare
2013 Kenny Rogers
2014 Hank Cochran
2014 Mac Wiseman
2014 Randy Travis
2014 Ronnie Milsap
2015 Grady Martin
2015 Jim Ed Brown & the Browns
2015 The Oak Ridge Boys
2016 Charlie Daniels
2017 Alan Jackson
2017 Jerry Reed
2018 Dottie West
2018 Johnny Gimble
2018 Ricky Skaggs
2019 Kix Brooks & Ronnie Dunn
2019 Ray Stevens

Only one person — Roy Rogers — has been inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame twice. First, in 1980, as a member of the Sons of the Pioneers, then in 1988 as a solo star.

Return to "Mr. Music" Home Page